Most state licensing boards require licensed engineers and land surveyors to meet continuing education requirements to renew their license. Nevada requires licensees to acquire at least 30 Professional Development Hours (PDHs) biennially, or every two years. In renewing a professional license, licensees are required to report on the Nevada license renewal application PDHs accrued in the preceding twenty-four months (during the current biennial license period).
“Home State” Rule
Nevada recognizes the differences in continuing education requirements across jurisdictions and applies the “home state” rule. If a Nevada licensee lives in another state or jurisdiction and holds a valid license in that jurisdiction—when that jurisdiction’s requirements are substantially equivalent to Nevada’s and those requirements have been met— then reporting of PDHs is waived per NAC 625.450 at license renewal.
Here are two examples that explain how the home state rule works:
When PDH reporting is waived
If a Nevada licensee lives in Texas (or state with similar PDH requirements) and has met the PDH requirements there, then reporting PDHs is waived at Nevada license renewal. That’s because Texas’s PDH requirements are substantially equivalent to Nevada’s (Texas and Nevada each requires 30 biennially or 15 annual equivalent).
When PDH reporting is required
If a Nevada licensee lives in California (or state with similar PDH requirements), then reporting PDHs is required at Nevada license renewal. That’s because California’s PDH requirements are not substantially equivalent to Nevada’s (California requires 0 while Nevada requires 30 biennially).
Please note though, even if reporting is waived because of the Home State Rule, the licensee is still required to complete continuing education requirements that are unique to Nevada (see Revisions below).
Revisions to Nevada Continuing Education Regulations
Recent revisions to Nevada Administrative Code (NAC 625.430) require that two (2) of the 30 hours must be in professional ethics and one (1) of the 30 hours must be in the provisions of chapter 625 of NRS and NAC, Nevada engineering statutes and regulations.
NAC 625.470 was also revised by adding self-study as an eligible activity to accrue professional development hours. One hour of self-study equates to one PDH.
Options to meet new requirements
Nevada engineering/land surveying statutes and regulations
Self-study is recommended for the one (1) hour requirement focused on Nevada engineering/land surveying statutes and regulations. A considerable number of statutes and regulations have been revised over the past two years, and it is important that licensees are familiar with the provisions by which they are regulated. Reviewing the Statutes & Regulations section of the board’s website, and documenting that review (Take a screen shot, note the date reviewed, and time spent), would satisfy the requirement.
Considering how much the pandemic has disrupted traditional means of continuing education, several professional organizations provide educational resources on their websites, and many are suitable for earning PDH credits. Self-study via other means is also acceptable, with the appropriate documentation.
Nevada Law and Professional Ethics Webinars
The board is hosting two webinars on November 14 and 15, 2022. This gives licensees an opportunity to fulfil the PDH requirement for 1 hour to review NRS and NAC chapter 625 and 2 hours of professional ethics.
Nevada Chapter 625 Statutes and Regulations Webinar
Monday November 14, 2022 – 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm PST+ Add to Google Calendar | + Add to iCalendar
Professional Ethics Webinar
Tuesday November 15, 2022 – 11:30 am to 1:30 pm PST+ Add to Google Calendar | + Add to iCalendar
The link to join both webinars is https://zoom.us/j/8286438008
Attendance is limited to the first 500. Sign-in will begin 15 minutes prior, and late arrivals will not be admitted.
For those unable to participate live, the sessions will be recorded and will be available on this page after the live events.
For those unable to attend the Nevada Chapter 625 Statutes and Regulations Webinar live on Monday November 14, 2022, you may watch the recorded video of the webinar and earn 1 (one) PDH credit.
For those unable to attend the Professional Ethics Webinar live on Tuesday November 15, 2022, you may watch the recorded video of the webinar and earn 2 (two) PDH credits.
Professional Development Hour Audits
Following the conclusion of a license renewal period, the board will conduct an audit to verify that regulations are being met and identify any communication issues that may be preventing licensees from understanding the regulations. A random sample of 100 licensees will be selected, and they will be requested to send documentation to support the professional development hours reported in their license renewal applications.
If you are an NCEES record holder, you can maintain your continuing education records, free of charge, via your My NCEES account. The Nevada Board can access your NCEES continuing education records to confirm compliance.